Freshmen Registration 2015

Around this time of the year, thousands of incoming freshmen usually make their way to the university for their registration. My organization (The UP Entrepreneur’s Club) ostensibly sponsored for the event and it turned out that the sponsorship includes helping the USC members to assist these oblivious freshies all through out their registration process. Of course, i was really glad to help.IMG_9231 copy IMG_9271 IMG_9302

IMG_9233 copy IMG_9234 IMG_9238 copy IMG_9240 copy IMG_9261 IMG_9274 IMG_9286 IMG_9291 copy IMG_9309IMG_9236 copy

Seeing these young people with their parents, with a whole lot of expectations of what lies beyond them the moment they enter the university, made me feel extremely nostalgic. I know they all feel proud of themselves for passing the UPCAT, for it makes them think that they are one of the most intelligent students in the country, which i am not trying to debunk. But these seemingly innocent faces… they will discover a lot of things about life and within themselves that will astonish them by the time they spend more and more years inside the campus. That i am immensely certain of.

2013-56876. That’s 10 numbers i will never forget from the day i memorized it til the day i die. Student number – which indicates pretty much the whole of each and every student studying in any campus within the UP system. The day i entered UP changed my whole life. Two years ago, I was just this innocent girl who thinks she already know a lot about life but the truth is, the things i knew back then was just nothing compared to the things i know now that i have already spent 2 years here in the university.

Choosing to study in UPLB with the hope of seeking The Great Perhaps was probably the most life-changing moment of my entire life. Signing my application form meant that i’d be away from my family most of the time, which also meant that i would have to endure all the burden and responsibilities i might have to encounter along the way. I can still vividly remember my first night in my dormitory. I was so scared and wistful that time, as i stared at the back of our family car while it goes farther and farther after my parents dropped me. I felt homesick right away. Being the kind of awkward person i am In a place where i have no friends, no parents, only myself – i never thought i’d make it.

But as time passed by, i figured that entering UP was not a bad choice, after all. I never thought i’d meet different kinds of people which will pretty much change my life in various ways. I was able to know myself more and to be more independent. My mind evolved into a stronger and wiser one, as well as my heart. I have learned to be open-minded, to acknowledge other people’s beliefs and opinions. Showed vulnerability and leaned on someone’s shoulder at 3 am, and been a shoulder to lean on for someone as well. I have learned that if you’re far away in a completely unfamiliar place, you’d have nothing but yourself and of course, your friends- and these people will apparently serve as your family away from family.

Now that i am on almost on my third year, i think it’s already safe to conclude that i am happy with the choice i made. The choice of place to study which turned out to be my second home now, and not to mention, the choice of friends or should i say, family. The hardships and pain i had gone through were tough. And without these people, i wouldn’t be here now writing this entry.

Frankly, im still not quite sure with the course that i have chosen. I still feel confused at times. But nonetheless, no matter what happens, i would never regret entering such wonderful place.

Going back, the hours i spent assisting these future isko and iska under the scorching sun was utterly worth it. It made me ponder about myself and my experiences through the years. It was such a beautiful reminiscence.

Published by

joannanmc

I'm Joanna Grace Namoc, a nineteen-year-old gypsy soul. A bookworm since birth. Two of my favourite books are The Catcher in the Rye and Veronika Decides to Die. I'm a frustrated writer. I'm a fan of rainy days accompanied with hot coffee, sweater and a good read. I'm not the type that goes gaga over a bouquet of roses; i like sunflowers more. I love listening to indie music. I love photography. I have a knack for gratuitously cleaning and arranging things which lead me to this belief that i have OCD. I am fascinated by frogs and jet plane trails. I love driving to distant places alone. The only goodbyes that i like is how the sky does it every sunset. I enjoy solitude - particularly visiting places to wander, where my thoughts are my only companions. I'm pretty cynical too. I hate relationships because i suck being anyone's anything. I'm aware the cruelty of this world, but i still believe that life is beautiful. I'm currently taking up Bachelor of Science in Economics at the University of the Philippines Los Banos. I dream to be a lawyer or a writer. Or maybe both, if that doesn't sound far-fetched.

Leave a Reply

