Gypsy Soul Tales: My Press Cafe Experience

I have always been a bookworm since when i was a kid. Everything about books fascinates me. I love to read. I love the smell of books. I love going to book fairs and i like being surrounded by books. Sometimes, i can spend like 5 hours of my day or more just lurking around at any bookstore- reading books even without buying them.

On top of the list of my most visited bookstores is Fullybooked, though i had just found out about the place 2 years ago when a branch nearby opened up (ATC branch). National bookstore and Powerbooks were my main solitary places back then but the thing about Fullybooked that instantly caught my heart aside from its tranquil ambiance is that it has a coffee shop attached to it: the Press Cafe.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Here’s the way that connects Press Cafe to Fullybooked! How amazing is this?
As i have said on my previous post, our mid year break’s only starting now and after all the stress that i have been through during the past few months, i think i deserve to wallow in a place where i can do two of my most favourite things in the world: reading and eating. Thank God for Press Cafe, de-stressing in solitude couldn’t be more accessible.

My visit there wasn’t really well-planned. My friend Kevin and i were supposed to go to Maginhawa and grab some food but then there had to be some change of plans because of the bad weather and heavy traffic. So we decided to just chill somewhere relaxing instead.

Since i have always been a fan of pasta since forever, i ordered Carbonara for dinner and a caramel frappe because well, i needed some caffeine within my system to keep me from falling asleep while driving. My food buddy Kevin, on the other hand, ordered some Arabiatta since he likes seafood very much. And a mocha frappe.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Rich, creamy pasta with country bacon, parmesan & chicken plus shrimps, fish fillet, squid, clams in spicy tomato sauce!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
Accompanied by mocha and caramel frappes!
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

While we were sitting there waiting for the food to be served i couldnt help but take pictures of the place for it looks soooo damn good! The shelves and the walls were all literally made and surrounded by books and you can even borrow one if you like.

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset
The shelves were literally made out of real books!!!
Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

One more thing that i found fascinating was the fact that the place doesnt have wi-fi. And i think it makes so much sense- who needs internet when you can have a quiet time for books? I guess the idea of it encourages more appreciation.

The place was really good. The people there were kind too, the fact that i took tons of pictures of the place didn’t weird them out, instead, they were smiling at me. The food was delectable and the price wasn’t that expensive. I guess i might have to perform some of my all-nighter sessions here from now on. The place was marvelous and i will definitely be going back!

I guess that’s one off my list. Til my next tale!

Press Cafe is located at Ground Floor, Fully Booked Building, Alabang Town Center, Commerce Ave, Muntinlupa, 1770 Metro Manila. For more information you can reach them on Facebook

Published by

joannanmc

I'm Joanna Grace Namoc, a nineteen-year-old gypsy soul. A bookworm since birth. Two of my favourite books are The Catcher in the Rye and Veronika Decides to Die. I'm a frustrated writer. I'm a fan of rainy days accompanied with hot coffee, sweater and a good read. I'm not the type that goes gaga over a bouquet of roses; i like sunflowers more. I love listening to indie music. I love photography. I have a knack for gratuitously cleaning and arranging things which lead me to this belief that i have OCD. I am fascinated by frogs and jet plane trails. I love driving to distant places alone. The only goodbyes that i like is how the sky does it every sunset. I enjoy solitude - particularly visiting places to wander, where my thoughts are my only companions. I'm pretty cynical too. I hate relationships because i suck being anyone's anything. I'm aware the cruelty of this world, but i still believe that life is beautiful. I'm currently taking up Bachelor of Science in Economics at the University of the Philippines Los Banos. I dream to be a lawyer or a writer. Or maybe both, if that doesn't sound far-fetched.

2 thoughts on “Gypsy Soul Tales: My Press Cafe Experience”

Leave a Reply

